Home » PDFA » Conference Awards

Conference Awards

Polymers: Design, Function and Application (PDFA) announces the availability of awards for postdocs, PhD students and young researchers conducting research in the field of polymer research and who plan to attend the PDFA 2018 conference.

Travel Award

Winners will be awarded 500 Swiss Francs with a certificate and a waiver of the registration fee for the PDFA conference. Runners-up will be granted a waiver of the registration fee for the PDFA conference.

 Candidates' Requirements:

  • Applicants must be postdoctoral fellows or PhD students involved in the polymer research field
  • The abstracts submitted by the applicants must be accepted by the scientific committee of the PDFA conference

Applicants are required to submit the following documents:

  1. A brief description of current and future research.
  2. A CV, including a complete list of publications.
  3. A letter of recommendation from their supervisor, research director or department head which also confirms that the applicant fulfills all requirements.

Update 19 January 2018: The winners and runners-up of the Travel Award are:

Two winners:
Patxi Garra, University of Upper Alsace, France
Kankana Banerjee, University of Mysore, India

Five runners-up:
Junliang Zhang, Friedrich Schiller University Jena, Germany
Qasim Zia, University of Manchester, UK
Sarah Glaß, University of Leipzig, Germany
Arn Mignon, University Ghent, Belgium
Pavel I. Semenyuk, Lomonosov Moscow State University, Russia

Young Investigator Award

The award consists of 2500 Swiss Francs, a plaque, a waiver of the registration fees of the next Polymers conference in 2020 and a plenary presentation at the next conference. Nominations are open to all investigators who work in the polymer research field. The candidates must be nominated by two established scientists rather than sending applications themselves. The support letter should highlight their achievements and contribution to the field and recommend them for this award. Self-nomination is not accepted.

 Candidates' Requirements

  1. Ground-breaking contribution to the advancement of the field
  2. 35 years of age and under (by 31 December 2017)
  3. Curriculum Vitae and list of publications
  4. Nomination letter from two established scientists in the polymer research field

There will be a special session at the PDFA conference on 21 March 2018 for the Young Investigator Award (YIA), at which point candidates are requested to give a presentation of their research. Based on these presentations, the YIA winner will be chosen by an evaluation committee, and the result will be revealed at the Award Ceremony of the last day of the conference.

Update 16 February 2018: The candidates selected for the Young Investigator Award session are:

  • Bernhard Schmidt, Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Germany
  • Haritz Sardon, University of the Basque Country, Spain
  • Joseph Patterson, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
  • Lei Fang, Texas A&M University, USA


2016 winner:  Dr. Luis M. Campos, Chemistry Department of Columbia University, USA

Left: Prof. Frank Wiesbrock, Assoc. Editor of Polymers
Middle: Dr. Luis Campos, Winner of 1st YIA
Right: Prof. Alexander Böker, EiC of Polymers