Please login first

The Non-coding RNA Journal Webinar Series | RNA: The Epicentre of Genetic Information

12 Apr 2022, 02:00 (CEST)

Noncoding RNA, Mechanisms, Bioinformatics, Therapeutics, Biotechnology, Cancer
Bookmark
Bookmark event Remove event from bookmarks
Add this event to bookmarks
Event Registration Contact Us

Welcome from the Chair

The Non-coding RNA Journal Webinar Series

RNA: The Epicentre of Genetic Information

The Non-coding RNA journal webinar is open to all who enjoy doing any type of research on the topic of non-coding transcripts, or are passionate about learning about this exciting and competitive research area. The webinar speakers will present new findings from basic to translational research. Any interesting ideas for topics and speakers are welcomed!

Date: 12 April 2022

Time: 2:00am CEST | 8:00am CST Asia | 10:00am AEST | 7:00pm CDT (11 April) | 8:00pm EDT (11 April)

Webinar ID: 814 9198 6187

Webinar Secretariat: ncrna.webinar@mdpi.com

Chair

Department of Translational Molecular Pathogenesis, Center for RNA Interference and Non-coding RNAs, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX, USA

Introduction
Bio
Prof. Dr. George A. Calin received both his M.D. and Ph.D. degrees at Carol Davila University of Medicine in Bucharest, Romania. After working in cytogenetics as an undergraduate student with Dragos Stefanescu in Bucharest, Calin completed cancer genomics training in Massimo Negrini’s laboratory at the University of Ferrara, Italy, and in 2000, he became a postdoctoral fellow in Carlo Croce’s laboratory at Kimmel Cancer Center in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. In June 2007, Calin joined MD Anderson as an associate professor in the Experimental Therapeutics department and was promoted to Professor with tenure in 2013. He explores new RNA therapeutic options for cancer patients and studies the roles of microRNAs and other non-coding RNAs in cancer initiation and progression, as well as the mechanisms of cancer predisposition.

Invited Speaker

School of Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences, UNSW Sydney, NSW, Australia

Introduction
Bio
John Mattick is SHARP Professor of RNA Biology at UNSW Sydney. He was recently previously Executive of Genomics England (2018-2019), and Director of the Garvan Institute of Medical Research in Sydney (2012-2018), where he established one of the first HiSeq X10 sequencing and clinically accredited genome analysis facilities. He was previously the Foundation Director of the Institute for Molecular Bioscience and the Australian Genome Research Facility at the University of Queensland. He has published over 300 research articles and reviews, which have been cited over 80,000 times. He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, the Australian Academy of Health & Medical Sciences, and the Australian Academy of Technology & Engineering. He is also an Associate Member of the European Molecular Biology Organization. He has received numerous awards including the inaugural Gutenberg Chair at the University of Strasbourg, the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Medal, the Human Genome Organization Chen Medal for Distinguished Academic Achievement in Human Genetics and Genomic Research, and the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center Bertner Award for Distinguished Contributions to Cancer Research.

Webinar Content

To view this content, you need to be registered and logged in to Sciforum platform.

Program

Speaker/Presentation

Time in CEST

Time in AEST

Time in CDT

Prof. Dr. George A Calin

Chair Introduction

2:00-2:05am

10:00-10:05am

7:00pm-7:05pm
(11 April)

Prof. Dr. John Mattick

RNA: The Epicentre of Genetic Information

2:05 -2:50am

10:05-10:50am

7:05-7:50pm
(11 April)

Q&A Session

2:50-3:00am

10:50-11:00am

7:50-8:00pm
(11 April)

Closing of Webinar
Prof. Dr. George A Calin

3:00am

11:00am

8:00pm
(11 April)

Sponsors and Partners

Organizers

Top